top of page

Our Governors

The school is governed, in accordance with the Instrument and Articles of Government, by a governing body of 10 members, comprising:

  • 6 Foundation Governors

  • 2 Elected Parent Governors

  • 1 Staff Governor

  • 1 Principal/Head of School/Executive Principal

The Local Governing Body at St. Nicholas comprises of a wide range of people who bring different skills and experiences to this important role. The governors are jointly responsible for the conduct of the school ensuring that the best possible Catholic education is provided for the pupils.

The Local Governing Body meets once each half-term as a full governing body, with Academy Committee groups meeting once each half-term also. These are always evening meetings. The governors take an active interest in the life of the school and are very strategic, challenging and supportive.

Foundation Governors

Mr Richard May (Chair)

Miss Mary Casey (Vice-Chair)

Mrs Johanna Acosta Canon

Mrs Sue Gill

Mrs Maureen May

+ 1 Vacancy

Parent Governors

Ms Helen Naraine

Mr James Spencer

Staff Governors

Miss Katy Smith


Executive Principal

Mr Neil Porter


Head of School

Mrs Claire Noble-Barton

Clerk to the Governors

Mrs Sue Cooke

Y3 02.jpg

Governor Office Term List 2016 click here

St. John Paul II Multi Academy

Trustees & Members: click here

Governance Structure: click here

Terms of Reference for Governance: click here

Academy Leadership Information

Catholic Senior Executive Leader - Mr M. Emery

Chair of Academy Board of Directors - Mrs M. Stirrop

Overview of Local Governing Body: click here

bottom of page